About the Pike family: St Pancras

During the past week I’ve been reviewing my notes about my 3x great grandfather, William PIKE. For some time I’ve been unable to find out much about his origins  but I now think I’ve managed to locate him firmly in the St Pancras area of  north London.

He was probably born in 1830, the son of another William PIKE and his wife Mary Ann (née WEBB). They had married in 1825 at St Pancras.

If I have the right family, in 1841  he was with his family in Parkers Place, St Pancras; his mother Mary, aged 40, is listed as a washerwoman with 5 children:
Eliza, 16,
Jane, 4
Matilda, 2
John, 14
William, 11

Ten years later, William, aged 20, was still living in Parkers Place but he was now the head of the household – he appears to be living on his own. His occupation was Mason’s Labourer and with him was a visitor named Daniel Byron, a 60 year old shoemaker who was born in Ireland.
In April 1853 William married Jane BUNKER at Trinity Church St Marylebone, and about 9 months later, in February 1854, the couple had a daughter whom they named Jane. They were living at Church Way, Somerstown; William had progressed to being a stone polisher.

31280_194717-00045Sadly, tragedy was to strike the young family. On 24th January 1856 Jane Pike, aged just 21, died as a result of “loss of blood caused by a fall”. Little Jane, my great great grandmother, was not yet 2 years old.
It would be interesting to find out more about the cause of Jane’s death but so far I’ve been unable to trace any coroner’s records or a newspaper report.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in PIke. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

