The Miles family – basket makers of Shoreditch

Autumn has arrived here in the UK. For me this marks the start of the “family history” season; it’s time to return to my research. On checking through the blog posts I’ve written in the past, I’ve noticed that I haven’t included much about my Miles ancestors.
My great grandmother, Alice Miles, was born on 6th March 1861 at 5 White Hart Court, Shoreditch, London and was baptised at St Leonards Church in Shoreditch on 31st March 1861.
Alice’s parents were John Miles and Elizabeth Ram, who married at St Mary’s Church, Lambeth on 26th July 1841. They appear in the 1841 census, living at White Hart Court with 4 daughters, Elizabeth, Mary, Jane and Sarah aged between 6 years and 2 months. Although they didn’t marry until July 1841, John and Elizabeth must have been living together for several years. Elizabeth was only 17 when her first child was born. I have wondered whether this was John’s second marriage – this is something I need to check as there are some public trees on Ancestry which give Elizabeth’s surname as Shepherd. John was a basket weaver / basket maker.
By 1851 another 4 children had arrived: the family was still in White Hart Court living in what must have been quite crowded conditions. One daughter, Mary, doesn’t appear on the 1851 census so maybe she had died.
My great grandmother ,Alice, made her first census appearance in 1861 as the census was taken on 7th April one month after her birth.
The family was still at White Hart Court in 1871 although several of the children were no longer living at home. Some had probably married, others had moved away or perhaps died.
Children of John and Elizabeth Miles (dates based on their ages as given in the census) :
1. Elizabeth Esther born 1835
2. Mary Ann born 1836
3. Jane born 1839
4. Sarah born 1841
5. John born 1843
6. Emma born 1847
7. Elinor born 1848
8. Ephraim born 1850
9. Martha born 1851
10. Harriet born 1853
11. Abraham born 1855
12. Alice born 1861

I’m now wondering what happened to all of them…finding out will be my task for the next few days!

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

