More about the Filler family of Cottered and Walkern, Hertfordshire

Feeling a bit stuck on the main names I’m researching I thought I’d go back again to have a look to see what else I could find out about the ancestors of my 5 x great grandmother, Edith FILLER who married George PALMER in Cottered, Hertfordshire in 1779.

Edith was born in Cottered, Hertfordshire on 28th January 1759, and was baptised on 11th February of the same year.  From the Hertfordshire records on Findmypast I found that  her parents were William FILLER and Mary HARRISON who married in Cottered in 1758.  The record in the register states

William Filler singleman of this parish and Mary Harrison Spinster of Aspeden were married in this church by Banns this 29th Day of November 1758 by me Angel Chauncy Rector. 

This marriage was solemnised between us

William Filler X his mark

Mary Filler late Harrison X her mark

William’s father was probably Daniel FILLER, born in Walkern in 1704, who married Mary HAGGAR in Walkern in June 1729.  Daniel was baptised at Walkern on 7th November 1704; his parents were William and Elizabeth FILLER.

So – could I take this any further back?  The online records at Hertfordshire Archives include the marriage of William FILLER of Layston and Elizabeth TITMUS of Aston on 22nd December 1691.   But is this “my” William? Well  – so far, the HALS records, Findmypast, Family Search  and Ancestry haven’t thrown up any alternatives, and Layston is about 7 miles from Walkern.   Of course he may have been working on a farm there at the time of his marriage?

A William was baptised in Walkern on 13th January 1660, the son of William FILLER and Mary.  Maybe he is my 8 x great grandfather!! Whether I’ll be able to find out any more information I just don’t know!

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Filler, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More about the Filler family of Cottered and Walkern, Hertfordshire

  1. richard filler says:

    Hi I am Richard Filler and I have been researching my Filler family for some time now. I have information about the people you are talking about, what do you want to know.
    Richard

Leave a Reply

