Mary Ann Dorsett born in Sunbury in 1792

For some time now I’ve wondered whether I would ever find out more about my 4x great grandmother Mary Ann Dorsett who married William Millington Mason in 1818.  I knew from the 1851 census that she was born in Sunbury, Middlesex in the early 1790s but the “backwards” trail stopped there.

In the last few days, a combination of searches on Ancestry.co.uk  and findmypast.co.uk have provided several possible links.  I found a baptism of a Mary Ann Dorset , the daughter of James and Sarah Dorset at St Mary’s Church, Sunbury in 1792.  A definite possibility!  When I checked the other children of this couple, one name stood out: Elizabeth Hater Dorsett who was baptised on May 4th 1800.

St Mary's Church Sunbury

St Mary’s Church Sunbury
The church is by the river Thames in Sunbury. It was designed by Stephen Wright and built in 1752
Creative Commons Licence [Some Rights Reserved]   © Copyright steve and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

The reason for my interest is the middle name “Hater”: one of my great grandfather’s half brothers also had this middle name, albeit spelled “Hayter”.  So was this a family name from the past?

A quick search revealed that a James Dorsett married a Sarah Hayter in 1789 at St Margaret’s Westminster.  Are these the parents of Mary Ann, and therefore my 5x great grandparents?  Or is it all coincidence?

If you recognise any of these names or they feature in your research do get in touch!  I would love to be able to confirm that these people fit into my family tree.

 

 

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Dorsett, Mason family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

