Filler family of Hertfordshire

One of my resolutions for this year is to try to post more frequently, and to present my family history findings  as more of a work in progress rather than a definitive piece of research.

St John the Baptist, Cottered

© Copyright Eirian Evans and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

Using the Hertfordshire parish records at findmypast.co.uk I found the following potential male ancestors:

Edith’s father was probably William Filler born in Walkern in 1732.  His father, Daniel, was also born in Walkern, in 1704 and was  the son of another William.  At the moment I don’t have any further information about these people: it would be good to know what they did for a living.  No occupations are shown on the parish registers so I will have to look at other records to see what else can be found.

© Copyright John Salmon and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

Many thanks to the photographers whose photographs I’ve used to illustrate this post.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Filler family of Hertfordshire

  1. richard filler says:

    I am Richard Filler and this family are my ancestors. I have knowledge of them all and would like to pas on any information required if someone was to contact me.
    Richard

    • Hi Richard
      Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. I am really interested in anything you can tell me about the Filler family, especially my direct line. As you know from my blog, Edith Filler, who married George Palmer in 1779, is my 5 x great grandmother. I know very little about the family except for the information I’ve found online. As I live very close to Cottered and Walkern I’m keen to learn more about them, their occupations and lives so that I can build up a picture of this branch of my family.

      • richard filler says:

        Hi there glad to hear from you. My direct descendant is Daniel Filler born 1730 his brother is William 1732 who married Mary Harrison. They had Edith 1759 Thomas 1761 William 1764 Hester 1766 Peter 1769 and John 1776 all born in Codicote Edith and George had Honor 1779 George 1784 Mary 1786 Esther 1786 Ann 1790 Thomas 1792 Mary 1796 and William 1802. I have traced the Filler Family back to William 1538 living in Barton in the Clay. My address is 36 TA6 4JD drop me details of your address and I will then be able to send you info, too much for the computer I think.
        Richard

Leave a Reply

