Mary Harding nee Price (born c 1809)

It seems as though it’s time to revisit some of the family research I did several years ago. There’s so much new information online, which makes it easier and faster to locate people and make links.

One person who had eluded me until this week was my 3x great grandmother, Mary, the mother of Mary Ann Harding. I knew from the 1851 census that Mary had been born around 1809 in Leominster in Herefordshire but I hadn’t done any research to find out her maiden name.

I decided to send for the birth certificate of one of her daughters, Rebecca Harding, who had been born after the start of civil registration in 1837. The certificate arrived yesterday and confirmed that Mary’s maiden name was Price.

Back to Ancestry, which brought up the marriage record for William Harding and Mary Price in Lambeth in 1832.    The witnesses don’t appear to be family members though I need to check out “Elizabeth Duberly” just in case she’s connected. As the family seemed to reamin in the Shoreditch area for many subsequent years I wonder why they married in Lambeth?

st.mary's Lambeth

Now to have another look for William and Mary before they appear in London – William says he was born in Cambridgeshire so it seems most likely that they met in London.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

