The Ferry family in the early 19th century

My month focusing on the Ferry family has been extremely productive. Using the London Baptism records on Ancestry, I checked the dates of the baptisms of all the children of John and Mary Ferry. Having identified 12 children born between 1794 and 1817 (Sarah, John, Mary Ann, Elizabeth, Ann, Harriet, James, Samuel, Edward, Louisa, Joseph and William) I realised that my records included a thirteenth child, George, also baptised in 1794. I have now removed him from my tree as I’m fairly certain that his parents were a different couple.

The family lived in the Hare Street / Fuller Street area of Bethnal Green.

Fuller StreetIn Greenwood’s 1827 map, Fuller Street can be seen running parallel to Church Row.  St Matthew’s Church is to the left of Church Row.  Hare Street runs across the bottom of these roads.

By concentrating  on the Ferrys and not allowing myself to become distracted by other branches of my tree, I’ve learned a lot.  So I’m going to give the Ferrys another month ,of my time.  What else will  I find?

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Ferry family, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ferry family in the early 19th century

  1. Lindy Cummings says:

    Hi, Someone in my family seems to think we are of the same family at least they have listed all your Ferry family names in our genealogy charts…whether that is correct or not I do not know. I would like to connect with you and share info to see.

Leave a Reply

