A snippet about my 4x great grandfather, John Saunders (c1794-1824)

After struggling for years to find out anything at all about my 4x great grandfather John Saunders I was delighted to find a couple of snippets about him from the Hertfordshire records which are now available on Find My Past.

The surname Saunders is fairly common in Hertfordshire which, combined with the first name, John, has made it quite a challenge to discover anything about his origins.  At the time of his marriage in 1818 to Charlotte Palmer of Cottered,  John was described as a bachelor, living at Westmill.

John died at the age of 30 and  was buried at Cottered in April 1824, which suggests that he was born around 1794.  I haven’t been able to identify a possible birth record for him so far.

St John The Baptist Church in Cottered

   © Copyright John Salmon and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

© Copyright John Salmon and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

John and Charlotte had two sons, Nathan, who was baptised at Cottered on September 29th 1820, and my 3 x great grandfather Nathan, baptised at Cottered on March 10th 1822.  The first Nathan had died in 1821, aged just 3 months.   These two baptismal records gave me the information that John Saunders was a shepherd – a new fact , and one which I hope may eventually lead me to further information about where he might have come from, and who his parents were.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Cottered, Saunders, Westmill. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

