The Bunces of Aspenden and Westmill

Having spent a lot of time recently checking my records in order to write about my great great grandmother on my paternal side, it’s time to take a look back at my maternal ancestors.

One line that seems to be well documented back to the 1600s in the Bunce / Bunch family of Hertfordshire, the ancestors of my 3 times great grandmother, Eliza Bunce (1822-1899).

The family lived in the Westmill / Aspenden area of Hertfordshire. The earliest record I’ve found so far is that of Richard Bunce who married Susan Barnes at Westmill Parish Church on 16th October 1681. Their first son, also named Richard, was baptised on July 10th 1682. We know that this Richard was a woolcomber, as he is described thus at the time of marriage to Elizabeth Holbean at Throcking, Hertfordshire in 1709.

Richard and Elizabeth’s son William was baptised at Aspenden in 1714. The surname is given as “Bunch”. It appears that William, a carpenter, married Joanna Lamb at Aspenden church in 1740. My initial research suggested that they had at least 7 children born between 1741 and 1758, but it now appears that the parents of the first two children were William and Joanna, but the rest were the children of William and Hannah. At the moment I can’t find any record which suggested that Joanna died and William married again to Hannah, so perhaps the two names refer to the same woman?

geograph-129433-by-Catherine-Edwards

St Mary’s Church, Aspenden

© Copyright Catherine Edwards and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

Eliza’s father, William Bunce, was baptised in the church at Aspenden on July 27th 1783. His parents were Henry Bunce and Jane Poulter, who had married at Aspenden on 4th February 1774.

William, a carpenter,  married Keziah Clear on June 2nd 1803 in Standon.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Bunce. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bunces of Aspenden and Westmill

  1. Barbara Roach says:

    I’m in the process of transferring my website from Rootsweb (which I haven’t touched for years) to Google Sites and taking the opportunity to update it at the same time. In an idle moment I googled ‘bunce aspenden’ and found your blog. Brilliant! My ancestors also go back to Richard Bunce and Susan Barnes.

    However, I have a question. I believe that the William Bunce you mention as being baptized 27 July 1783 was actually John William and was buried as John 19 November 1783. My direct ancestor is the next John who was baptized 22 May 1785. Your William was probably the one baptized 3 August 1777.

    I’d be interested to hear what you think.

    Barbara

    • Hi

      Sorry for the delayed reply – I’ve been away for a couple of weeks. I’m interested in your thoughts on William Bunce; that information came to me very early in my research and I haven’t checked it recently so I’ll go back to my notes in the next few days and let you know what I think. Do you have any other information about the Bunces?

      I’ll be in touch again soon.
      Anne

Leave a Reply

