Tombstone Tuesday: Dinah Bunce at Westmill, Hertfordshire

dinah-for-webI’m not quite sure where Dinah fits into my family tree but she must be connected to my Westmill Bunces in some way.  She was buried on February 18th, 1896, aged 73.  Her “place of abode” is given as “Wood Green, Tottenham”.

She was the wife of William Bunce, a carpenter, who was born in Westmill  c 1818. They are listed in Buntingford on the 1871 and 1881 censuses.  I believe that she married William in 1863; he was a widower, his first wife, Elizabeth,  having died in 1856.

If I’ve got the right family, William was the brother of Eliza, my 3x great grandmother.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Bunce. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tombstone Tuesday: Dinah Bunce at Westmill, Hertfordshire

  1. I enjoyed seeing this. My Great Aunt Eunice Hitchings (my grandmother’s sister) was married to man from England, and his name was George Bunce. They were married on 9 April 1940 in Hamilton, Massachusetts. I don’t know where he was born, but his birthday was 24 Sept 1877. Perhaps he was related to your Bunces!

Leave a Reply

