Blogiversary:this blog is one year old!

I thought I should mark the first “birthday” of this blog!

cake

During the year the number of visitors to the blog has slowly increased, and although I’m not yet reaching a wide readership  I’m pleased with the number of page views.

As the focus of the blog is my own personal family history research, it’s been great when people have commented with more information or have asked questions. I’ve made some new contacts , and have been able to get back in touch with some fellow researchers with whom I’ve exchanged information over the years.  I’ve made some new discoveries and just planning each blog post has made me check my research and think more laterally about my “brickwalls”.

Not surprisingly, the most popular posts have been those that have been publicised on Geneabloggers – I’ve tried to follow the Daily Blogging Prompts but it hasn’t always been easy.   The most popular topics have been the Sheepwash family and the Mason family.

My aim has been to write at least one post each week, but that hasn’t always been possible due to work commitments and holidays.  Still, I’ve managed 41 posts during the year which I’m happy with, although I am setting myself a target of one post each week for my 2nd year of blogging.  When I started, I thought that I would write about my ancestry, and my husband’s too. I’ve ended up restricting myself to my side of the family at the moment, but I’m considering starting another blog focusing on his family tree.  (He has a lot  more old photographs of his family than I do of mine … which possibly would make for a more interesting blog….).

So, whether you’ve been a regular visitor of have stumbled across this blog during your own research – thank you for visiting!

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogiversary:this blog is one year old!

  1. Grant Davis says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

  2. Yvonne says:

    Happy 1st blogiversary!

  3. Betty Taylor says:

    Happy Blogiversary! I have just started my blog and hope that I am able to going for a year. Actually as of today I started a second one. My first one has only been going for a month. Oh my, what was I thinking? Good luck with your goals for the next year. I will be checking on you so keep it up.

    Betty

Leave a Reply

