More about my Mason ancestors

In one of my early posts for this blog I wrote a little about my great grandfather Herbert Cecil Mason and summarised my line of descent on the Mason side. Stories about the Mason family were the original spark for my interest in researching my family tree: there were several fascinating claims made about connections to royalty, and to the painter JMW Turner, and to a baron somewhere in Suffolk or Sussex. I haven’t found anything that suggests that any of these stories were true, but they could have been invented to spice up a family tree which at first glance seems quite ordinary.

The earliest Mason ancestor I’ve identified so far is William Millington Mason, my 4 x great grandfather, who married Mary Ann Dorsett at St Marys Church, Ealing, Middlesex on 19th April 1819. I haven’t been able to find their parents so at the moment I cannot get any further back with these branches.

William was born in around 1787 in Middlesex, according to the 1841 census, where he is found living at number 4, Webbs Lane , Hammersmith. Mary was born in 1794 or thereabouts, also in Middlesex. William gives his occupation as “labourer”.

From baptismal records it seems that  William Millington Mason and Mary Ann had five children:

  1. William Millington : baptised on 30th May 1819 at Sunbury on Thames
  2. Mary Ann : baptised on 14th October 1821 at St Paul’s, Hammersmith
  3. James : baptised on 5th June 1825 at St Paul’s, Hammersmith
  4. Jemima: baptised on 5th June 1825 at St Paul’s, Hammersmith
  5. John: baptised 2nd December 1829 at St Paul’s Hammersmith (my 3x great grandfather)

Jemima, James and John were all present in the family household in 1841, but the two older children are not there.  So far I haven’t found William Millington or Mary Ann in 1841.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Mason family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More about my Mason ancestors

  1. Jill Bridges says:

    I found a photo of my uncle Bert and auntie Gina only last night. I also have photos of Mr and Mrs Deeks of Hintlesham, Suffolk. Ester Mason JTM sister appears on one of the censers returns for the Mill in Hintlesham.

Leave a Reply

