Postcard of Miss Marie Studholme

This postcard has no links to my family, but I’ve owned it since I was child and it has always fascinated me.   It was given to me by my grandmother, Rosalind Brittain. I believe that a relative found this, and many other cards, in the attic when they moved into the address on the postcard.  The card was posted in Wood Green, North London, in May 1910 and sent to Palmers Green which is a couple of miles away.

Marie Studholme was a popular actress in the late Victorian and early Edwardian period.  I can imagine that the sender of this card selected it carefully as the message reads:

Dear Annie

When you trim my hat do not show all those long green stems of the poppies as they are a nasty colour green and do not go with my blue costume.  I like the stems of the pink flowers, you can show them as they are a nice colour.

Forgot to tell you on Saturday

Mary

I wonder whether the hat being trimmed was anything like Miss Marie Studholme’s hat in this photograph?

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

