A Post for Father’s Day

As it’s Father’s Day here in the UK,  I thought I’d mark the occasion with some family photos.  Despite rummaging through the albums I haven’t managed to find a photo in which I appear with my father .  He was always the one taking the photographs, so he rarely appears in any of the pictures. As a keen photographer he was very proud of his camera which I believe was a Rolleicord. Even in the 1950s and 1960s there wasn’t much spontaneity about taking a family photo. I recall a lot of preamble with a light meter as the settings all had to be adjusted for each shot!

The best photo of dad that I can find for now is this lovely photo of my parents Roy Cecil Brittain (1929-1998) and Doris Neville (1928-1993) on their wedding day in September 1954.

Sadly the marriage ended in divorce in 1972, but they both look so happy here.

I was fortunate enough to know both my grandfathers. The photo below is of me  with my grandad Brittain in 1959 or 1960:

The photo was taken at my grandparents’ bungalow in Canvey Island, I think.  Grandad Brittain (Ernest James Brittain; 1905-1981) worked on the railway, and later at a sweet factory in Wood Green, North London.  I look as though I’m trying to escape!

Here I am with my grandad Neville, taken at Canvey Island at a similar time, maybe a little earlier.

Grandad Neville (Frederick George Neville or Sheepwash; 1898-1972) worked at the Lebus furniture factory.  He loved his garden, and a bet on the dogs or horses.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Brittain family, Neville or Sheepwash family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Post for Father’s Day

  1. Michael Sheepwash says:

    I’ve been doing alot of searching for a Sheepwash family crest and the brass is the closest i have come to finding one, can anyone help me find a copy of it ?

Leave a Reply

