Matrilineal Monday – 16 great great great grandmothers

Matrilineal Monday – my 16 great great great grandmothers

Having posted a list of my 16 3x great grandfathers a few weeks ago I thought I’d better get started on listing my matrilineal ancestors. Doing this has once again  highlighted the gaps in my research – I’m missing a number of “mothers” as of course they don’t appear on their children’s marriage certificates, and some of them don’t appear to have survived until the 1841 census. I’m fascinated by the range of birthplaces and shows that my family story really is one of migration into London.  My next task is to try to complete the sixteen and to make sure I’ve got documented sources for each birthplace.

  1. Hannah Marsden born 1809 in Blackburn, Lancashire
  2. Esther Turner born c 1833, possibly in Hintlesham, Suffolk
  3. Jemima Mason born 1825, Hammersmith
  4. Eliza Card born c 1819 in Westbury, Somerset
  5. Sarah Sparrow born 1794 in Faversham, Kent
  6. Eliza Bunce born 7th July 1822 in Westmill, Hertfordshire
  7. Jane Bunker born 1836 in Middlesex
  8. Frances Aburn born c 1814, probably in Towcester, Northamptonshire
  9. Jane Fountain Boyle born 3rd February 1813 in Finsbury, London
  10. Emma Bickmore born c 1833 in Maldon, Essex

With the next two I’m fairly certain of their first name but haven’t yet found a marriage or birth record:

  • Mary ?              born about 1809 in Leominster, Herefordshire, wife of William Harding
  • Mary Ann ?      wife of Joseph Ram

Four are missing completely:

  • the mother of Mary Couling
  • the mother of Francis Wiltshire
  • the mother of John Miles
  • the mother of George Arthur Briancourt
About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matrilineal Monday – 16 great great great grandmothers

  1. Jim Toone says:

    I have been researching my family history for over 40 years – I first found Edward William Ferry, my grt grt grandfather, in the registers at St Matthew, Bethnal Green when the registers were kept upstairs in the church itself. Although the origins of the Ferry family are still elusive, I do have information which might be useful. I have also carried out research into the Aburn line (although baptised Frances, Edward’s wife was actually Frances Sarah, born and baptised in Bethnal Green, although her elder sister, Martha, was baptised twice, once in Towcester and again in Bethnal Green, where her date of birth was added. If I can help in any way, and possibly share information, please feel free to contact me.

    Regards Jim Toone

    • Thanks for your comment. I’d be interested to compare notes on our research. Have you found any of the Aburns in any of the London censuses or other London records? I’ve tried to locate them but haven’t yet been successful.

Leave a Reply

