An introduction to the Mason family

I’ve called this blog All Roads Led to London – but the Mason family is one of the branches of my tree that I haven’t managed to trace out of London …yet.  The family is quite complex as there were lots of children, so here  I’ll try to summarise my direct line.

My grandmother was Rosalind Esther BRITTAIN (née MASON), born in 1908 to Herbert Cecil MASON and Georgina (née BRIANCOURT).

I remember Herbert Cecil, my great-grandfather quite well; from my  perspective as a young child, he seemed  to be a very confident  man who could talk for hours without really letting anyone else say anything!   I think his love of story telling and holding an audience resulted in some interesting, but wholly untrue, family stories and rumours.   My feeling is that he loved to embroider the truth, and his many younger half-siblings, and his children,  enjoyed the stories and believed many of them.  I wish I’d listened more instead of getting bored and spending mealtimes tying together  the strands of green chenille fringing on my grandmother’s table cloth.

Herbert’s father was John Thomas MASON, born in 1854, and his mother was JTM’s second wife, Mary Ann Wakerley (née MASON)who was born in 1852.  JTM married again after Mary Ann’s death in 1894.   JTM worked in the jewellery trade until about 1890 and then became involved in the steam laundry industry which of course had the potential to become very successful at that time.

JTM was the son of John MASON, born in 1830, and Esther Elizabeth (née TURNER) who was born around 1833. I haven’t yet managed to find a birth or baptism record for Esther – she is one of my longest lasting brick walls.  John worked as a jeweller in the Wigmore Street area of London.

Finally we come to  my 4x great-grandfather, William Millington MASON who appears to have been born around 1787 – but where? He married Mary Ann DORSETT in Ealing, Middlesex,  in 1818.  Depending which source is consulted, he was either  a labourer or a gentleman.  I think it’s most likely that he was a labourer.

If you recognise any of these names please get in touch!  The later generations of the family had several children so there must be lots of descendants out there.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Mason family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An introduction to the Mason family

  1. Louise humphreys nee mason says:

    I imagine there was lots of people called mason in London, my family came from Sydenham, and all four children put into Barnardos my dad was about 18mths old born around 1917 and my uncle jack was old enough to be put to work. The orher siblings names were Albert, Charles(my father )and Ellen my dads birth certificate has no father details, my grandmother was not married to their father I believe she was his mistress but I have been told he was a umbrella repairer? Of Sydenham, my grandmother went on to have a further I think 6 children, I think they were called slater as uncle jack used to be called jack slater mason, sadly all Those siblings have passed away but non of the four wanted to talk about their past. I have always felt I have a big hole in not knowing my grandmother and grandfather, I hope one day to do what you have done and try to fill that hole,hope you have had lots of replies that have helped.

Leave a Reply

