Happy New Year to all genealogists!

For me, the start of 2014 is a time to clear the desk, dust off the files and start researching family history again.  Several months have passed since I blogged regularly; I lost my way a little with my research after a promising time earlier in 2013.  I really want to get back to researching and blogging this year.  I think I might focus on one family each month, work on finding out as much as I can and writing up some of the more interesting things as and when I locate them.

This month I shall be revisiting my research on the Ferry family of Bethnal Green, East London, with the aim of discovering more about their lives and the social history of the Bethnal Green area during the family’s time there.

Just now I’m intrigued by these two references which I found by chance on Familysearch.  They come from the minutes of the  Bethnal Green (Huguenot) Friendly Benefit Society:

1857 Apr 6 Proposed by Mr Geo Ferry, Wm Goddard by trade a Cabnet [sic] maker, 34 Turk St. Bethnal Green, aded [sic] 20 years.

1858 Jul 5 Proposed by Mr Edw. Ferry, Tho Stillwell by trade a Weaver, No 24 Mape St Bethnal Green, aged 23 years.

I have a George and an Edward Ferry in my tree, living in this area – might they be connected to these two gentlemen?

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I have been researching my family history for several years. I'm particularly interested in social history and enjoy learning about, and trying to understand the context of our ancestors' lives. From the mid 1800s onwards most of my direct ancestors lived and worked in London.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.