A holiday from blogging – or perhaps not?

054

I was feeling quite guilty because  I haven’t managed to write a weekly post recently.  Work, holidays, family stuff, gardening and a rotten broadband connection have all combined to make it impossible to sit down and write regularly.

Then a few days ago I read a post on a blog called “myheritagehappens” which made me reflect on why I write this blog.  Firstly, it’s to help me organise my research and ensure that it doesn’t just languish in dusty files and boxes.  Secondly, I want to get the names I’m researching out there on the internet so that others can find me and connections can be made.   Thirdly, I hoped that writing would help me to document my thoughts and suggest new avenues to pursue.

This year I began to feel that as I hadn’t made any startling new discoveries I didn’t have anything include in my blog.  On reflection, though, even the smallest snippet of information might prompt someone to get in touch with a recollection, fact or photo.

So I shall try to return to my previous pattern of a weekly post, but it won’t necessarily be full of detailed genealogy.  The blog may become more of a repository for facts and records that I’ve found along the way – or just questions that have emerged from my research.

Taking a broader view may well prove fruitful – and if you are reading this and are connected – however distantly – do get in touch.

About familyhistoryfootsteps

I'm enjoying early retirement! I have been researching my ancestry for several years and am interested in all aspects of family history especially local and social history.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A holiday from blogging – or perhaps not?

  1. Jean says:

    Hello, I know a Blackburn up in Harrogate, N. Yorkshire. I saw you had a steven saville on your site from London. My name is Saville and our family are all from SE London and Kent.

    Hope this is useful, jeannie

Leave a Reply

